Kentucky Tourism
Back to Cities & Towns


Region North Central Kentucky

Paris, located in the heart of the Kentucky's lovely Bluegrass region, is the county seat of Bourbon County. Paris continues to be known for three things - horses, history and hospitality. Bourbon County was one of nine counties that made up Kentucky when it became a state in 1792. The city is named for Paris, France and the county is named for the French Bourbon family, who assisted the fledgling Americans in their split from England. The name of bourbon whiskey came from the designation of local whiskey sold in New Orleans in the 1790s as coming from Bourbon County. Thoroughbred horse farms in the area, including world-renowned Claiborne Farm, insure that Paris continues to be known as a Thoroughbred nursery. For more information, see