Whatever your interest or passion, we invite you to use this guide to help you plan your stay in Kentucky.
Explore the many multicultural tourism opportunities in Kentucky, learning about the state’s diverse cultural, heritage and travel attractions in this guide.
Learn about Kentucky's natural diversity and beauty. Come explore the wonder of the Commonwealth's four major regions.

Kentucky Political Leaders

Senator Henry Clay, President Taylor and other political celebrities from Kentucky shaped our world

From American president Abraham Lincoln to Confederate President Jefferson Davis, Kentucky has spawned a number of great American politicians. This political powerhouse of a state also turned out Senator Henry Clay, “The Great Compromiser,” Republican-party founder Cassius Marcellus Clay and many others. View the full list of political celebrities from Kentucky and get to know the Bluegrass State’s other famous faces.

Alben William Barkley (November 24, 1877-1956) – U.S. Vice President under Harry Truman, 1949-53. Born in Graves County, died in Lexington.

John Cabell Breckinridge (January 16, 1872-1920) – U.S. Vice President under James Buchanan, 1857-61. Born and died in Lexington.

Louis Brandeis (November 13, 1856-1941) – U.S. Supreme Court Justice, 1916-39. Born in Louisville, died in Washington, D.C.

Albert Benjamin "Happy" Chandler (July 14, 1898-1991) – Two time governor (1935-1939 and 1955-1959) and U.S. Senator (1939-1945). The second Commissioner of Major League Baseball, and a member of the Baseball Hall of Fame. Born in Corydon, and died in Versailles.

Cassius Marcellus Clay (October 19, 1810-1903) – The Lion of White Hall, Ambassador to Russia, abolitionist, a founder of the Republican Party. Born and died in Madison County.

Henry Clay* (April 12, 1777-1852) – The Great Compromiser, U.S. Senator, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives, U.S. Secretary of State. Born in Hanover County, Virginia, died in Washington, D.C. Clay’s estate is named Ashland, in Lexington. Clay is buried in the Lexington Cemetery.

Martha Layne Collins ( December 7, 1936- ) – First female Kentucky governor, 1983-87. Born in Bagdad. Instrumental in bringing the Toyota auto manufacturer to the U.S. and to Kentucky.

John Sherman Cooper (August 23, 1901-1991) – U.S. Senator, ambassador to India and East Germany, member of the Warren Commission. Born in Somerset, Kentucky and died in Washington, D.C.

Jefferson Davis (June 3, 1808-1889) – Only President of the Confederate States of America, 1861-65. Born in Christian County, and died in New Orleans, Louisiana.

John Marshall Harlan (June 1, 1833-1911) – U.S. Supreme Court Justice, 1877-1911. Born in Boyle County, died in Washington D.C.

Richard M. Johnson (October 17, 1780-1850) – U.S. Vice-President under Martin Van Buren, 1837-41. Born in Beargrass, died in Frankfort.

Abraham Lincoln (February 12, 1809-1865) –16th U.S. President, 1861-65. He successfully led his country through its greatest internal crisis, the American Civil War preserving the Union and ending slavery. Born in Hardin County, died in Washington, D.C.

Adlai E. Stevenson I (October 23, 1835-1914) – U.S. Vice-President under Grover Cleveland, 1893-97. Born in Christian County, died in Chicago, Illinois.

Zachary Taylor* (November 24, 1784-1850) – 12th U.S. President, 1849-1850. During his youth he lived on the frontier in Louisville, born in Barbourville, Virginia, died in Washington D.C.

Frederick Moore Vinson (January 22, 1890-1953) – U.S. Supreme Court Chief Justice, 1946-53. Born in Louisa, died in Washington, D.C.

Sign up now to receive special announcements, packages, deals, and travel coupons. Maximize your travels!

Home / E-Newsletter / Site Map / Privacy Policy / Disclaimer / Accessibility

Capital Plaza Tower 22nd Floor, 500 Mero Street, Frankfort, KY 40601


© 2014, Kentucky Department of Travel. All rights reserved.
Web Design & Search Engine Optimization by Aristotle ®