Back to Menu
Located in the historic district of Franklin, the Old Stone Jail, built in 1879 and used until 1986, offers tours that give you a glimpse of what pioneer justice was like. The buildings house a museum and rather extensive genealogical archives. There are some court records dating to before the Civil War however most of the records were lost when the courthouse burned in 1882). Some exhibits date to pre-Civil War. Some Civil War graffiti was found when renovations were being done. Three Confederate Officers are depicted, one of which may be John Hunt Morgan.
Closed on Sunday and all Federal Holidays. Many unique shops are nearby.
Group tours are welcome, but please call for a group appointment. No admission fee.
206 N. College St.
Home / E-Newsletter /
THE OFFICIAL SITE OF THE KENTUCKY DEPARTMENT OF TRAVEL
Capital Plaza Tower 22nd Floor, 500 Mero Street, Frankfort, KY 40601
2013, Kentucky Department of Travel. All rights reserved.
Web Design & Search Engine Optimization by Aristotle ®
Kentucky State Parks