Kentucky Tourism
Back to Cities & Towns


Region South Central Kentucky

Logan Co. Tourist & Convention Commission 

Welcome to Russellville, KY, the county seat of Logan County. Known as "Rogues' Harbour" and "Big Boiling Spring" to the early settlers, it has held the name of Russellville since 1798 in honor of Revolutionary War General William Russell. The majority of the early settlers came from Virginia and North Carolina. As one of Kentucky's oldest counties, Logan's long and colorful history includes four Kentucky governors, famous and infamous heroes, and a legacy of historic sites and events.

For history buffs, a Confederate monument is located on the picturesque courthouse square of Russellville.